Finding images

First check the library provided database
Browse general image collections and gateways
- Around the World in a Viewfinder culture and travel photos
- Artchive galleries, art links, theory and criticism
- Artcyclopedia online searchable art encyclopedia
- Art History list of links to image resources
- ArtPromote online image collections including architecture, christian, musical, photography, posters, vintage, and women artists.
- ArtSource Image Collections list of links
- Australian Libraries Gateway to online Australian image collections
- BUBL LINK Image collections list of links
- Boston University Libraries, Finding Images on the Web comprehensive, includes how to download images
- Corbis search for photographic images, footage and related services. Payment is required to licence the images
- Flickr is a photosharing website. Upload images, or search those of other people
- Flickr storm - creative commons images site
- Getty Images contemporary photography images. Download plug-in for greater range of services
- Image Collections and Online Art part of the University of Michigan's Mother of all Art History site
- Imagelib & the Clearinghouse of Image Databases University of Arizona, listserv and list of image projects
- Inmagine search across suppliers, royalty free photos
- TASI Technical Advisory Service for Images (UK). Comprehensive
- V + A Images (Vanda Images) Victoria and Albert Museum images
Search for specific images
- Acclaim images stock photography
- AHDS Visual Arts Surrey Institute of Art & Design, University College, digital resources in visual arts
- ArtLex art dictionary
- Art Resource "worlds largest fine art stock photo archive, licensing authorized images to all media" (need to register your email for access)
- ArtServe Australian National University collection of art / architecture images, mainly from the Mediterranean Basin, Japan and India
- CalPhotos University of California site with images of plants, animals, fossils, people and landscapes
- Fairfax photos photos from the Fairfax newspapers (payment required)
- Fotosearch gateway of image libraries. Cost associated
- Icon Browser search engine for computer interface icons
- Masters of Photography photographs, information on photographers and more
- PictureAustralia searchable database of images of Australiana
- Pictures Catalogue, State Library of Victoria, photographs, prints, drawings from the Picture Collection
- Scholars resource digital images and slides, art history, museum artefacts
- SPIRO Architecture Visual Resources Library, University of California, Berkeley
- SYMBOLS.com online encyclopedia of graphic symbols, includes articles on the history, meanings and uses of signs
- Vincent Van Gogh Gallery comprehensive Van Gogh resource
- Walsh Gallery Chicago gallery specializing in contemporary art from Asia and the Asian diaspora
- Web Gallery of Art searchable database of European paintings and sculptures from C12 to mid C19
Internet search
Locate images online using these Internet search engines
Your links!
Description
Loading content... please wait


Submit a Link
Loading content... please wait